Jerky Lessons/Sad meat

On the 21st of January, 2017, I picked up some lovely roasts from Costco. Eye of Round, to be precise, @ $9.99/lb. Great deal! 2 very decent sized roasts for 25$.

I prepared to make some more jerky, but I thought this time, I’ll follow the box instructions. Mistake. I’m not going to name the company, because it has to be operator (ME!) error. I usually make 2 batches, one a marinade / one a dry rub, and I throw both in the oven for an hour or so to cook them after slicing, before I put them in the dehydrator.

This time, I made two batches, both dry rub; and going with what the box said, I did not cook them first (I know, I know: never put raw meat in the dehydrator to make jerky). But what do you do when the box specifies NO MARINATING REQUIRED, JUST DUST, RUB AND DEHYDRATE?

Well, let me just say that I will never do that again. I got cocky. I thought I knew. I thought the box would be correct. Whatever. It’s on me. Good thing I’m a wee bit fussy when it comes to food safety.

20170123_195415A loss of over 2 pounds of meat looks just like this: Sad. Due to spices, not fit for animals.

 

Categories: Dehydrator, Food, Jerky | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Jerky Lessons/Sad meat

  1. Pingback: Jerky Lessons/Sad meat | Off Grid Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

